If you liked the book, will you like the movie?

book

Some very popular books have recently come out as movies and are generating a lot of positive buzz.

wildWild: from lost to found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed – A powerful, blazingly honest memoir: the story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe—and built her back up again.

The movie stars Reese Witherspoon (and is also Producer) as Cheryl Strayed and Laura Dern as Cheryl’s mother, Bobbi.  It is rated R for sexual content, nudity, drug use, and language.  It is mostly faithful to the book and critics say Reese delivered the performance of her life and was nominated for a Golden Globe and Oscar.  Laura Dern was nominated for an Oscar for Best Supporting Actress. The movie is rated R.

 

unbrokenUnbroken: A World War II story of survival, resilience and redemption by Laura Hillenbrand – Relates the story of a U.S. airman who survived when his bomber crashed into the sea during World War II, spent forty-seven days adrift in the ocean before being rescued by the Japanese Navy, and was held as a prisoner until the end of the war.

The movie is most notably directed by Angelina Jolie.  It has won the American Film Festival top ten film of the year.  Jack O’Connell, who plays Louis Zamperini, has won two awards – Hollywood Film Award for Actor and National Board of Review Award for breakthrough actor.  The movie is rated PG-13.

 

stillStill Alice by Lisa Genova – Feeling at the top of her game when she is suddenly diagnosed with early onset Alzheimer’s disease, Harvard psychologist Alice Howland struggles to find meaning and purpose in her life as her concept of self gradually slips away.  The movie stars Julianne Moore as Alice who recently won the Golden Globe award for Best Actress.  She also won Best Actress with several other associations including The Chicago Film Critics and Hollywood Film Awards and has been nominated for an Oscar as Best Actress.  Alec Baldwin stars as the husband, John.  The movie is rated PG-13.american

 

American Sniper by Chris Kyle – A member of Navy SEAL Team 3 describes his life as a father and husband, and as the serviceman with the most confirmed sniper kills in the history of the United States military while serving in Iraq and Afghanistan.  Bradley Cooper has been nominated for an Oscar for his portrayal of Chris Kyle.  The movie has also been nominated for Best Picture.  The movie is rated R.

 

If you’ve read the book, will you go see the movie?  Let us know what you think of the movie.  Did it capture the essence of the book, or was it a disappointment?  If you liked the movie, will you read the book?  Which did you like better?  We want to know!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s