If You Liked “Gone Girl” …

As with many wildly popular books, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is going to be made into a movie.  Twentieth Century Fox has announced that the movie version of  this thriller is due out on October 3, 2014.  Ben Affleck stars as Nick Dunne with Rosamund Pike signed on to play his wife.  Neil Patrick  Harris, Tyler Perry, and Patrick Fugit are among the film’s co-stars.  Reese Witherspoon is producing the film.

If you’ve already read the book and are looking for something similar to read, The Silent Wife by A.S.A.Harrison is a highly touted recommendation.  What makes it special is the story behind the book.  It was written by an unknown Toronto writer who had never written a book before.  It was released in paperback format as opposed to the more splashier hardcover format.  And in a tragic twist, Ms. Harrison died of cancer at the age of 65 just before the book was published.

The book follows the bad marriage of Jodi and Todd.   They lead an affluent life in their beautiful waterfront condo in Chicago.  He is a committed cheater. She lives and breathes denial. He exists in dual worlds. She likes to settle scores. He decides to play for keeps. She has nothing left to lose. Told in alternating voices, their marriage is in the throes of dissolution, they’re headed for catastrophe, concessions can’t be made, and promises won’t be kept. Expertly plotted, this book ensnares the reader from page one and does not let go.

Other books you may also enjoy reading are:

These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf.  When teenager Allison Glenn is sent to prison for a heinous crime, she leaves behind her reputation as Linden Falls’ golden girl forever. Her parents deny the existence of their once-perfect child. Her former friends exult her downfall. Her sister, Brynn, faces whispered rumors every day in the hallways of their small Iowa high school. It’s Brynn who carries the burden of what really happened that night, but all she wants is to forget Allison and the past that haunts her.

Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight –  Kate’s in the middle of the biggest meeting of her career when she gets the telephone call from Grace Hall, her daughter’s exclusive private school in Park Slope, Brooklyn. Amelia has been suspended, effective immediately, and Kate must come get her daughter—now. But Kate’s stress over leaving work quickly turns to panic when she arrives at the school and finds it surrounded by police officers, fire trucks, and an ambulance. By then it’s already too late for Amelia. And for Kate.

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes – A masterful twist on the serial killer tale: a violent quantum leap featuring a memorable and appealing heroine in pursuit of a deadly criminal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s