Author Profile: Robyn Carr

robyn carrRobyn Carr published her first book in 1978, but it took her 30 years to make the New York Times Best Seller List.  She is a pioneer of the small-town romance genre.

She married her high school sweetheart during the peak of the Vietnam War.  She studied nursing in college, but couldn’t practice because of their constant moving between military bases.  To occupy her time, she took up reading and fell in love with romances.  She feels romances are important because people need a safe place to deal with emotions they’re stuck with, and a book is a safe place to do that.  After much trial and error, she settled upon writing contemporary romances.  Her novels deal with real issues in a realistic manner.  She is strongly drawn to issues and causes that honor men and women who serve our country.  Her stories are about strong, capable women who have issues that every woman faces at some point in her life.

She is the author of the very popular Virgin River series.  It is a blend of romance and women’s fiction that entertains as well as addresses sensitive issues, such as domestic violence, health issues, and Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.  It takes place in a fictional town in the Redwood forests of California.  The series centers around men of honor and the women they love.  The first book of the series, Virgin River, was published in 2007.  There are 20 books in the series.  They are:

  1. Virgin River
  2. Shelter Mountain
  3. Whispering Rock
  4. A Virgin River Christmas
  5. Second Chance Pass
  6. Temptation Ridge
  7. Paradise Valley
  8. Under the Christmas Tree (novella)(not available)
  9. Forbidden Falls
  10. Angel’s Peak
  11. Moonlight Road
  12. Midnight Confessions (novella)(not available)
  13. Promise Canyon
  14. Wild Man Creek
  15. Harvest Moon
  16. Bring Me Home for Christmas
  17. Hidden Summit
  18. Redwood Bend
  19. Sunrise Point
  20. My Kind of Christmas

Ms. Carr has spent most of 2012 writing a brand new series, Thunder Point.  It is set in a picturesque coastal community on the Oregon coast.  Like her Virgin River series, this series will make you laugh, sigh, and fall in love with a small town filled with people you’ll never forget.  Book one – The Wanderer is out now.  It will be followed by The Newcomer in July and The Hero in September.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s